Captain's Logbook

By CaptainSensible

Swiller

I thought to call someone a swiller was something to do with large quantities of beer. I stand corrected! A Swiller makes Oak swill baskets a woven basket traditional in the southern Lake District. 

I learnt this when I came across Owen Jones at Hatfield House today. Mrs W and I took Jan for an outing to the living crafts exhibition and fair.

The weather was fantastic, warm and bright. There were loads of really interesting exhibitors many of whom were carrying on their craft for all to see or running little workshops to demonstrate how it's done. Bowyers were making long bows, others were carving wooden spoons, making rustic chairs, wicker baskets, jewellrey from leaves, stone carving, animal statues made from old horseshoes. Lots of fascinating stuff to look at, talk about and of course to blip. 

A really good day out. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.