kaz18

By kas18

We Did It

We got to the peak of Snowdon. Boy what a trip up we had...it was wild. Couldn't see a thing...which was a great pity. It was wet and so incredibly windy. Apparently we had gusts of 66 mph. It really took me by surprise.
The whole thing took me by surprise. I knew I was going to climb Snowdon but my vision of climbing was a nice path that went up and up and up. Well it did go up and up and up but it wasn't the kind of path I was expecting. We went on the Pyg Path. I honestly didn't realise I'd be climbing over boulders and scrambling up, or how near the edge you would be. But I loved every scary minute of it although I got so very cold.
One of our group had a fall. A few of us who were slightly ahead didn't realise. When we stopped to wait we were waiting in a very open, windy spot. My waterproof jacket wasn't waterproof and I was soaked through. That added to the cold wind just made me so incredibly cold. The lovely guide gave me another layer to put on which helped.
The lady that fell wasn't badly hurt....thank goodness. In fact we had a few fallers....but we all made it to the top and back to the bottom with not too much harm done.
Back at the hostel and a nice hot shower soon sorted me out.
A brilliant day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.