Matts Photo Journal

By photomatt

Baby Face

I spent hours in the yard on Sunday pruning Leyland Cypress trees in my backyard.  The idea was to raise the canopy so that we can see the puppies when they run around and will also make life easier for me when I mow the grass.  

I had cut two branches from the base of the last tree and just lined up the saw on a third branch.  As soon as I did that, a Dove flew out of the tree and started making a commotion.  When I looked out,  I could see that a nest was at the end of the branch that I was about to cut off. 

What surprised me the most was that the nest was only about 18in/45cm off the ground and that the puppies didn't find this before I did!

I went down to check on momma and her two children this morning and they are doing quite well. Note that I posted a blip earlier and deleted/replaced it after taking this macro shot this afternoon.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.