Lightfantastic

By Lightfantastic

PAIR of MASON BEES with MITES

The slowworms are gradually moving away from their winter quarters. They are looking very bright and shiny now as I think most have shed their old skins.  I found one among some primroses as I was putting out the bird food. It had some bluish markings  down its back so I’m pretty sure it’s a male. He was very active and possibly on the prowl; it’s surprising how quickly they can move especially when one is trying to take a photo! Later on we found 2 babies in their usual place and another male in the front garden under a ridge tile I had saved from when we had the roof done. see extras. Blip sorted I thought. But then on looking at the mason bees who are nesting in the bee house made of bamboo rods I spied 2 bees together. At first I thought one was predating the other but then thought it must be a pair, (later confirmed on google). The male is smaller than the female and has slightly different marking. They were both covered in pollen mites which are mainly harmless to the bees.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.