Lizellens Lot

By lizellen

To Eat or Not to Eat, That is the Question...

I have never blipped anything like this before,  but I am very excited about this app on my iPad that I downloaded today.

Six months ago I started having problems with food and have struggled since to find meals that I could eat without a lot of discomfort. Most fruits, many vegetables and any product with wheat in seemed to be the main culprits, but I could never be sure that what I ate would not have an adverse effect. The choices seemed to be very limited.

I met with a dietician who diagnosed Fructan Intolerance and today she recommended an app that would guide me in food choices. It is fantastic - not only does it list foods to eat and avoid, but advises on an adequate nutrition intake, gives recipes,menu and shopping guides as well as a general understanding of the problem. What I hadn't realised is that it is also about the amount eaten and that small amounts occasionally may be tolerated. Which is very heartening as most of my favourite foods seem to be on the black list.

Tomorrow I head for Cambridge in the North Island to have a week with my daughter and Grandchildren. I am so glad this app came today as I wont have to worry about the results of inadvertently eating the wrong thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.