Collection

If you ignore my reflection and the reflection of the thermostat you'll see my husband's collection of hat badges and collar pins that were sent to him by his dear friend Doug Hilton who is a collector of police memorabilia.  Doug lives in Manchester and his collection was a much-loved hobby.  He wrote to many, many police jurisdictions in the United States asking them to trade their police badges, hat pins, patches, etc., for ones he sent from the U.K.  My husband was Chief of Police of Red Lodge, Montana, at the time and was able to gather a fair selection of items from his friends in a number of towns to send to Doug.  Over time Doug in turn sent the collection you see here.  Doug and his wife Myra became close friends and were guides for our first trip to England in 1998.  The collection now hangs in my son's home.  When I was at his house this past weekend helping him get ready to move to San Francisco I was reminded of our dear friends and how much my husband loved them and his collection of badges.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.