Life in Newburgh on Ythan

By Talpa

Why I exist.

This morning I set out to photograph something to commemorate the 70th anniversary of the end of the war in Europe. A few days late, I know, but better late than never. The war was pretty important to me because had it not happened my father wouldn't have left his native Canada (to help save the Limeys as he would say), he wouldn't have met my mother and I wouldn't be blipping today! Oh, the pure randomness of life!

Anyway, I decided on a photograph of the anti-tank blocks set up on our beach in 1940 in anticipation of a visit by the Nazis. In doing so I inadvertently chose a function on the camera that I didn't know that it could perform. I'm not sure that I will ever use it again, but it has done  a pretty good job of painting camouflage patterns on the concrete blocks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.