But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Sixty Foot and Rising.

I needed to be home early this afternoon since I had a meeting to attend, hence I missed the coffee and cheese scone that are so popular at Craigies farm shop. Instead I sampled the delights of the Climbing Centre at Ratho. The coffee was fine, but they used to do a good line in scones; now they have gone down market in that department and perhaps I shouldn't have bothered.

However, I did see this fearless white haired lady showing off her skills; the wall is about 90 feet high and she is two thirds of the way up. Her husband (I assume it was he) was at the bottom holding the rope. He was next up with his good lady holding the rope; she had a second lady holding on to her in case her feet should leave the ground. they must be a very trusting group of people. I don't suppose any of them was quite in my age group but they were certainly old enough to know better than to do this sort of thing; I respect them for their attitude.

For the first time I'm posting "extras," the reason being that I am unlikely to witness such  things again. The first illustrates the variety of tools that cyclists need to carry around in case they have to do road-side maintenance while, the second illustrates the menus provided by the typical Mbra hostelry.

Edit: Numbers corrected.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.