Its the Way It Is

By Jeano

Tribute to Father Browne

Frank Browne (1880-1960) was an Irish Priest and Photographer Extraordinaire .  He had intended on travelling on the Titanic's fatal voyage but was forbidden by his Bishop at the last moment (I am not sure why)

He took a huge number of the most beautiful photographs and I have a book of his which combines a photo and a poem by one of my favourite poets W.B. Yeats

Anyone who knows me knows that I believe in the notion that life is to be enjoyed      I have always tried to cultivate 'joie de vivre'.   For this reason, my blip today is a page from this book showing one of Fr. Browne's photos titled 'The Old Musician' Tullamore , Co. Offaly (1929) - the accompanying poem is 'The Fiddler of Dooney'.   This poem is saying that those who sing, dance and play their fiddle will get into heaven quicker than the people who spend their time praying.

I love this poem and its one of my party-pieces (when I can remember the words - you know how it is)

Hello and thank you to anybody who has taken the time to look and comment on my photos.    I am delighted with that.

By the way, the book is called The Father Browne Yeats' by E.E.O'Donnell

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.