See it, Snap it, Share it

By pplnani

Luncheon is Served

Sorry it's a wee bit gruesome but it wasn't the most gory one I took of this male Banded Demoiselle devouring a Mayfly.......I was completely fascinated as I saw it capture the mayfly in mid air and settle on the nettles to deal with it, I had no idea that they ate anything so large....well, I didn't know what they ate actually but now I do :-)  As I stood on the bank chasing the damselflies I could hear the cuckoo really close by but annoyingly on the other side of the river and I'm not swimming the river just to try to find it.........I know, I know,   there's just no dedication, is there ;-))
When I had finished by the river I started walking back towards the other part of the nature reserve when a bird that I couldn't recognise flew over and just at the last minute I thought it might be the cuckoo, then I heard it in the nature reserve....it had been the cuckoo and it wasn't far away. I hotfooted it into the reserve trying to go towards it's calling, when I suddenly spotted it at the top of a tall tree.  I fired off a number of shots and managed to catch it before it flew away YAY!!! The shots were not the best I've ever taken as it was a long way off and against the sky but I have included it as my extra shot if you're interested to see it........ I will definitely return another day to try to get a better shot ;-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.