Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Spectacularly hard ...

...to convey the grandeur and scale of the Imbros Gorge running from the eastern flank of the White Mountains to the shores of the Libyan Sea at Chora Sfakion. Neither as long nor as popular as the better known Samaria Gorge, this was the route by which the Allied soldiers were evacuated after the Battle of Crete - chosen, I heard today, because it is so narrow and hidden by its surrounding rock walls the bombing would have been impossible.

This shows some of our group walking through one of the narrower parts, but cannot show the towering height of the rock walls above us.. Having at the last minute opted to do this walk, I was delighted to find that as regards the number of people hiking in the gorge it resembled the Samaria Gorge the first time I walked it some 25 years ago.

Today - as then - I followed my hike with a (positively perishing) swim in the sea.

Result!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.