AH14

By AH14

Flocking!

Today I saw not one but two amazing sights! An impossible blip decision!

The main event of the day was to walk out to the Snettisham RSPB (bird) reserve in time for high tide, in order to witness the vast numbers of waders that were out on the mud flats, flock up into the sky as the tide came in. And what a sight that was - truly spectacular! - and well worth the long walk it entailed. So many different birds to be seen including dunlin, bar tailed godwit, shelduck, oystercatchers, terns, grey plover (I'm told - just one!)........ 

The photo I've chosen to blip, shows just a tiny portion of the display but I hope it gives a hint of the sheer numbers of waders invovled. The sun was shining, so glinted beautifully on the sea, and the water calm, showing the birds' reflections.

Now we've all (that is, all those who live in the UK) heard a cuckoo but how many of us have actually seen one? Well today I saw two cuckoos and even succeeded in photographing one - amazing sight number two! :)) I've include him as an extra. I've also included a shot of a small flock of shelduck flying overhead, as I've never seen that before either!

Many thanks for the great comments, stars & hearts for yesterday's Sky Dancers blip of the avocets - they are all very much appreciated! My holiday is going great but I'm afraid I don't have much time for commenting - catch up with you soon :) 

Have a great weekend, everyone!

Day 48 of Blipout2015, suggested by PaulFS,  making the most of the daylight by only blipping outdoor photos until the clocks change in October.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.