The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

A Nesting Blue Tits Work Is Never Done!

A couple of days late, but here as promised is an update of the nesting Blue Tits.

They are now flat out feeding the chicks inside. Oh how I wish I had a camera nest box now! I would love to see how things are going in there. I have no idea how successfully they are feeding them, or how many chicks there are inside. Their average brood is 8-10 chicks, it's quite a small nest box, so if there are that many in there, it must be quite a squeeze. It takes two to three weeks for them to fledge, and as I have absolutely no idea when they hatched I can only guess we are about a week and a half into that.

Where ever they are sourcing the green caterpillars from they are finding plenty of them. Long may that continue!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.