Iain's Blipfoto Journal

By iainspowart

Disguise Fail

This is a long-jawed orb weaver spider which would normal live in wetland areas - building a web over ponds to catch midges and flies and disguising itself as a blade of grass.

Unfortunately for this individual she has ended-up living under the lip of a blue wheelie-bin so I don't think the disguise is fooling anyone!

I have no idea how it got there but she comes out every night to build a web and catch her prey so she seems quite content with her life.

I have considered relocating her to her natural habitat but I don't like the idea of interfering with the course of nature - if she ends up in the bin lorry then I can't allow myself to worry about it. For the time being she is proving to be an interesting subject to keep an eye on :)

I'm also very glad that she didn't fall on me when I was upside-down pointing the camera up under the lip of the bin! I posted a photo on Flickr the other day that shows what a scary pair of fangs she has!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.