1day>1week>1month>1year

By cowgirl

Who said dressage is boring?!

Most of the day was spent in the garden - though I was mostly watching Sav dig the new borders. Well, someone has to be the foreman! We liberated some of the plants that had been contained in pots ( because I always knew we would move and I wanted to bring them with me when we did ) and fastened up some netting so's I can plant the sweetpeas tomorrow.

By 3pm Sav was getting ready to go back to work and I was due to go to watch Emma doing a dressage test with Port.

Suddenly it was 3:30pm and I had 15 minutes to get to the show! Luckily, it's about 10 mins from my house. As I got out of the car and grabbed my camera, I could see Emma already in the arena. Of course I had the wrong lens on the camera, so was running along and swapping lenses at the same time!

About 2 minutes later, as I took this shot, I became aware that something was going on in the warm up arena, right next to where the dressage was being judged. As I looked, a lady had just been thrown off her horse, which was still doing its bucking bronco impression, heading towards the entrance to the arena where Port was watching with keen interest.

Luckily the loose horse was caught and calmed down and the lady, after a quick check over was able to remount.

Emma was allowed to let Port calm down again before resuming the test.

Emma said afterwards that if the horse had entered the arena with her and Port, she'd have been in the same place as the other lady!

Port was still abit on edge when he'd finished the test, but not so much that he couldn't manage a few mints!

Oh, and they got placed second in the class!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.