Black Crowned Night Heron

I didn't get very far on my walk this morning, but I got far enough to take a picture of my old friend the Night Heron. He is migratory, so he winters in Mexico, but he was back in/on his customary pond today.I snapped his picture  just before he took off in search, I suspect, of water he could actually see. The drought has certainly affected his little lagoon, turning it from clear to brilliant green algae covered water to solid looking brown.

When we got back, I started removing the passiflora vine outside our bedroom door to make way for the hot tub. It is quite a nice vine with an amazing flower, but it is very aggressive and was covering the electrical outlet and the faucet, so it had to go. As I worked my way through the thick growth, I came upon an empty bird's nest. It was rather poorly made, and I suspect that if it had ever had any occupants, we probably would have known about it.

OilMan cracked his head on an open cupboard door and retired to the couch with ice on his head to watch. the boys of the Tour of California toil up the slopes of Mt. Baldy, a climb every bit as challenging as the Alps and the Pyrenees have to offer. The race ends tomorrow in my home town of Pasadena

If I had a dollar for every time I have reminded OilMan to close a door, I would be a millionaire, Since he hit his head on the same cupboard door not so long ago, I'm not very sympathetic. He always says he left it open, even if it is the front door and it is freezing outside, because he is "coming back". He becomes a bit vague when I press him on the subject of just when he was going to return.

I did wake him up when he fell asleep on the couch, just to be sure he didn't have concussion, He's had enough of those... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.