Footprint

By littleblips

Fable in Futility

Was the Extra Better?
Fable of the Leaves
Futility

"Are you still there?"
    "Yeah. I'm answering, aren't I?"
"But I can't see you. I can't feel you either. I think I'm going numb. It's so cold. Don't let go, will you? Hold on."
    "I am. But's it's not comfortable."
"Yes, I know. It's freezing. But if you hold on tight we can get through this together."
    "I dunno. It's probably not worth it. It used to be beautiful here. The greenery, the sunshine, the view was amazing. I never wanted to leave. But it's changed; you've changed. I think it might be better for me to let go. Down there, I might achieve my purpose."
"What do you mean? Whether you stay here or drop down there, it all serves the Tree."
    "Maybe. But if I let go, I'll fly. Down there might be more fun."
"But if you let go, we'll be apart. And if we let go together, I won't be able to find you where we land. We can only be together if you hold on."
    "I want to stay, I do. But I want other things, too."
"What are you going to do? Will you hold on? The green will return, we will be beautiful again. Truly."
    "Hmmmm. I think I'm just going to relax and see what happens."

"I wish you'd hold on... It's terribly cold. Thank God it's not too windy and there's a bit of sun. Can you feel the sun? Are you still there?"

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.