Spotted in Pembrokeshire

Dedicated to Kendall who loves cows and has a new sprog in the family.

Steeleye Span's song The Spotted Cow  has been found in barely-varying versions all over Britain since it was originally written for the London pleasure gardens in the 1760s, sounding for all the world like a rustic folk song extolling the pleasures of early summer romance among the cowpats buttercups. The song even featured in Thomas Hardy's novel Tess of the d'Urbervilles  [chapter 3] when Tess finds her work-worn mother belting out the lyrics as she violently rocks the cradle of her latest sprog while doing the family wash.  Indeed many a country sprog must have resulted from just such bovine-related dalliance. 
Do have a listen.

One morning in the month of May,
As from my cot I strayed,
Just at the dawning of the day
I met with a charming maid.

“Good morning to you, whither?” said I,
“Good morning to you now.”
The maid replied, “Kind sir” she cried,
“I've lost my spotted cow.”

“No longer weep, no longer mourn,
Your cow's not lost, my dear,
I saw her down in yonder grove,
Come, love, and I'll show you where.”

“I must confess you're very kind,
I thank you, sir,” said she.
“We will be sure her there to find,
Come, sweetheart, go with me.”

And in the grove they spent the day,
They thought it passed too soon.
At night they homeward bent their way,
While brightly shone the moon.

If he should cross the flowery dale
Or go to view the plough,
She comes and calls, “You gentle swain,
I've lost my spotted cow.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.