Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

Leftovers

I made chocolate scones today because my cousin was coming for coffee (yes, I do have a coffee maker at home just in case). First time I made them, and although he liked them I think I will make them a bit different next time. They are almost as ordinary scones, but there is also sugar, cacao powder and 50 g 70% dark chocolate in them and divided into smaller buns. They taste better than they look in the photo, I promis! :D


I have had a poem stuck in my head since the weekend. It's rather annoying when it pops up during the night and I sure it had something to do with all the crazy dreams I had last night. I was kind of confused when I woke up!
I learnt the poem during my first semester at university. The first course I took was Old Irish, or Celtic. Really great course with amazing teachers and one of my classmates became a really close friend. Apart from the language, we learnt about history and religion of the Celts. I remember one lecture especially well. One of our teachers was teaching us about Ogam - the early Celtic written language, and how it changed with vowels and consonants and evolved. I didn't understand anything and looked around the classroom to se if anyone looked as clueless as I felt, but everyone sat quiet and listened attentively. After a while our teacher asked us: 'Do you follow?', and someone said 'Kind of', another one 'Sort of' and a third voice 'May bee'. Fortunately I wasn't the only one that had a hard time understanding and our teacher just stared at us, kind of dejected I suppose since he had talked for about 40 minutes and no one understood completely what he was trying to teach us. Later, we got the same lecture again by our other teacher, but in Swedish instead of English and then we all understood.
The poem then, it was written in the marginal on a parchment some 900 years or so ago.

Bitter and wild is the wind tonight,
Tossing the tresses of sea to white.
On such a night as this I feel at ease
Fears North men only cross
The quiet seas.

There are other translations of this one to, but this is the one we got in class.
From chocolate scones to Irish poetry... :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.