Wake

Went to my third funeral of the year today :(  Hoping it's the last one for a long time.  My brother (this was his fifth funeral this year) drove me to Bury St Edmunds for our Auntie Ronnie's funeral (stopping for a nice cuppa on the way at a pub that my brother knows well from his work Christmas dos).  

The funeral was, of course, sad, but the service was lovely and very personal, and the wake afterwards was such a positive experience.  We all went back to her son Chris's house, and stood chatting, reminiscing, and most importantly laughing and telling happy stories, in his beautiful garden.  Caught up with several family friends from waaaay back, too, which was lovely.  Before my brother and I left, we took a walk down to the end of the garden, which backs on to this beautiful field.  I thought it was a nice sunny photo for the day.

Iain drove us back, dropping me home on his way back to Kent, and I had a lovely relaxed evening - and a tasty chilli - with Tim.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.