Seven wonders of the Ancient World.

With a free morning in London before returning to the North, Mrs.K.decided that as she had never visited The British Museum, we should spend an hour just getting a taste.

It is overwhelming. Not just the skill and effort which went into the sculptures of the ancient world but also the effort of excavating them and getting them back to London without damage.

Hundreds of potential Blips of course. But here is just a sample. A Greek marble horse and bronze bridle of 350 B.C. from the Mausoleum at Halikarnossos ( now Bodrum in modern Turkey). This was one of four horses and at its head it is 2.33 metres.

My apologies for the fact that no extra entry appeared yesterday. I have still not succeeded in posting one. When I click on "Add another" it tells me that I have already entered one for today and it refuses to accept an extra. If anyone can give me a hint on what I am doing wrong I would be grateful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.