The Daily Record

By havohej

Better Than a Thousand Just One

Better Than a Thousand 'Just One' (Revelation, 1997)

Ray Cappo is the consummate hardcore frontman; he's energetic, engaging, entertaining and he's got that voice. The Youth of Today stylings are toned down a little on this release but the squawking drawl is unmistakable. It's certainly a return to almost classic form when compared to his melodic Krishna core project Shelter.

He's never disappointed me on the handful of occasions I have seen him and those who have seen Youth of Today, Jamie (back in the day) and Finchy (more recently), concur that he is in the highest echelon of hardcore greats.

Pringle and I caught Better Than a Thousand at the Dynamo festival in Eindhoven in 1998, where they were easily one of the bands of the festival, which is quite an achievement when they shared a stage with Agnostic Front, Refused, Ignite and Congress amongst others. Ray was a high kicking dervish that day and we were both seriously impressed.

What was less impressive was spending the majority of the festival with stigmata, due to ripping my hands to shreds climbing over the security fence in order to gain access to Soulfly's inner sanctum. Gloria was very nice and tended to my wounds but I wondered if it was worth the effort after Pringle abandoned me for vast swathes of the festival to hang out with his buddies! Ach well, he got to sing on stage at Donnington with them so I suppose it was worth it......to him!

The only times I have been speechless when meeting famous people have been in Pringle's company. The first was when he introduced me to Shane 'rags to Richie' Richie in Edinburgh's Festival Theatre. Bear in mind Richie was only famous for doing the Daz 'Doorstep Challenge' at this point, he hadn't even joined East Enders, and all I could manage was a feeble handshake then an equally shaky 'That was alright' to Pringle! The second time was when Ray stayed at Andy and Pringle's house after Shelter had played at the Venue. I had all my records ready to sign, but when I went into the kitchen he was getting ready to bed down with his wife and watch Sex and the City. I barely managed to blurt out some pleasantries before I ended up doing their dishes like some kind of hardcore manservant!

'Just One' does not do the incendiary live performance in a heaving, sweaty ice rink any justice. The guitar sound is lacking in beef and the energy of four guys going completely mental and jumping all over the place in front of about 10 thousand people doing similar just can't be matched.

The songs are catchy, finger pointing melodic hardcore with just the right amount of old school to lift it above the likes of CIV. Perfectly enjoyable with stand outs being opener 'Live Today', which has a definite (deliberate?) Gorilla Biscuits feel, and typically spiritual 'Just One', seems I missed the point that '...one is better than a 1000' with my photo. Oh well.

The cover is classic Revelation with Ray looking so 90's it hurts, but still totally hardcore and, I'm not ashamed to admit it; cool as hell!

Worth a listen, but you need to see Mr Cappo live to really appreciate him.

Peace

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.