On Some Days

By V1k1

Technicolour Tuesday

This is Zhykaan's mixed media panel showing what he knows about Maori Visual Culture.  I taught him as a seven year old, when I still had my own class, and now he is in his last year at primary school.  His panel is so colourful it had to be my subject for Technicolour Tuesday.  The strong green and black pattern is his example of a Tukutuku pattern.  The white and black shapes are a Kowhaiwhai pattern based on the Hammerhead shark.and are called Mangopare.  There are colourful korus painted around.  They are based on shells or ferns and mean new beginnings.  The pale shape hanging down is a pendant based on the fish hook and is said to bring good luck and prosperity.  I think it looks dramatic.  P.S I found the fisheye setting and thought it might add something to this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.