Louwestphoto

By Louwestphoto

Sad times.

It's been a tough day, both for hubby and I as well as for Dude. We'd noticed that Dudey's breathing seemed to be fast and pronounced and thought something was wrong. Although given he has anxiety issues, we weren't sure if it was linked to that... but this morning, it appeared to be worse and he was coughing too. So off to the vets we went. They kept him in through the day to x-ray him and, although they can't be 100% sure without surgery, it looks like he has cancer, both a primary and a secondary, causing fluid in his chest. There is not much that can be done... although surgery and chemo could prolong his life, at fifteen years old, the vet doesn't think it's worth putting him through it and we agree. So he's given us a raft of medication and it's about making the rest of his life happy. As soon as he shows signs of being in pain... well...

I've had Dude since he was a tiny kitten; he's been in my life longer than hubby has. He's always been an important part of my life, but since I started working at home, even more so. I'll be at a bit of a loss without him. But he's had a good life and, apart from his territory/anxiety issues, a happy life. He's been well fed and looked after and showered with love. 

Man, I'm gonna miss him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.