Common malachite beetle

My goodness the weather has been really foul today!! 
It started sunny but quickly deteriorated to heavy showers followed by hail, thunder and lightning! As I left work I could see the approaching dark navy clouds, darkened still further by the sunshine.....15 minutes later the heavens opened! 
By the time I got to go out blip hunting the light was pants and as everywhere was still soaking I just stopped by a grassy verge and took my chances! Luckily for me there were several of these little (5.5 - 6mm ) Common malachite beetles Malachius bipustulatus  sitting on the grass flowers.
These little beetles are easily recognised by the twin red spots on the metallic green elytra, although they are tiny and often overlooked. 
They can be found from April - late July, and are quite common in the grassy meadows where I live.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.