Thistle Down

By Ethel

Lizard Mountain

Like a lizard,
It crawled o'er barren sod.
And raised into a mountain,
Something made by God.

Through the eyes of a child,
I saw this horizon.
And figured it would move,
Some day it would be gone.

Its great horned-head,
Was hairy with the pine.
Rock croppings gave it spots,
That fell in line.

All through the days I saw it,
It was wrapped in a haze veil.
That went off to the southland,
With a long and curling tail.

Age stood me there in later years,
I leaned upon a staff.
That same old lizard came in view,
And there...I stood to laugh.

E.P. 1908 - 1989

I'm on a quest to find this Lizard Mountain. I have an idea where it may be... I'll talk to some old-timers and hopefully it's not forgotten.

This picture is for Parker. Not my cup of tea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.