Ivanbar1

By Ivanbar1

Second Time Round

About six weeks ago, I pulled out all the beds of Cosmos as it had got so tall, that each time it rained, it would just fall over.
Since then, however, hundreds of self sown seedlings appeared and they are now in full flower despite it being almost winter and even after having a few frosts. I am sure I have never had flowering Cosmos at the end of May before .
But I am not complaining...it is lovely to have these pretty pink and white flowers in my garden and to pick for the house.
This morning they looked delightful with the dew on them and the sun was shining for a little while...but I decided to photograph them in black and white for a change.
I didn't get to blip yesterday as Peter and I spent most of the day raking leaves...( a huge trailer load) and mowing the lawns as we knew rain was forecast for today. Then we left at 4:30pm for Tauranga with another couple to go to the Foster and Allen concert.
We did a double take when we walked in the theatre, as it was a sea of grey and balding heads.
Oh my goodness! Do we really belong in this group...yes, I am afraid so.
It was a wonderful concert  with plenty of audience participation . Great to hear so many of our favourite Irish songs!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.