a town called E.

By Eej

Adventure? Tick!

(backBlip)
The Beloved found a new trail to explore, he said. Was I in? "Of COURSE!" I said, grabbing camera and bug spray three days ahead of time.
So today we went.
The sign at the entrance said hiking was allowed. It didn't say there was no actual trail and we would have to figure things out for ourselves.

So we traipsed through the high grass, trying to find areas with slightly less high grass.

There were Sandhill Cranes EVERYWHERE. None of them actually showed themselves (well, 2 of them did. I only saw one, much later) but just hearing them was thrilling.

Then my back itched and when I scratched I removed a tick from between my skin and my jeans. Ah. Yes. Despite being covered in repellent, they still consider me the best treat around.

I found 2 more on me before we were back to the car. I calmly explained to the Beloved that while I really appreciated his idea, this really was altogether much more adventure than I can handle.
He agreed.

I found another tick on Tuesday after my shower. It looked hungry, so I'm possibly safe, but damn. Who knew I'd be such a tick magnet? Bleurgh.

Still, it was beautiful when we just got there and nothing was trying to eat me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.