one species a day

By linnaeus

One species each day (from my backyard)

Here's a Nepeta cataria flower, or a very close relative. If you know better, please let me know. It looks a little different from the usual ones, but that is probably because it is flowering under weeding-, drought- and end-of-season stress. Photographing it was a bit of a struggle; it was low by the ground, facing a little stone wall, so there was little room for photographer plus camera. I used the live view option and folded-out screen, but found it really hard to aim the camera and focus at the same time while keeping the flowers lit with my head torch on my head (sideways). Then the flash wouldn't fire (after changing the battery it turned out I had accidentally disabled the flash in the menu!). In the meantime I got bitten by mosquitoes and when I finally got inside to check my photo there was the shadow of a (big) piece of lint right in the centre of the flower (dust on the sensor). It was hard to get it off, sticky and several menu selected image sensor cleaning attempts were unsuccessful, so I had to get the blower out... Then another attempt at photographing it. Here's the result. At least I got to know the camera a bit better again, and that's a big part of the purpose of my one-species-each-day mission.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.