Shyflamingo

By Shyflamingo

Mmmmmm Happy Day's

Not what I would normally post as a blip but it is a special day as I have found gluten free oatcakes - you may wonder why that make’s it special - A Staffordshire oatcake is a type of savoury pancake made from oatmeal, flour and yeast. It is cooked on a griddle, and sold from small independent shops.  The normal filling would be any combination of - bacon, sausage, cheese, tomatoes, mushrooms, scrabbled egg, (my favourite is bacon, mushrooms, & cherry tomatoes) is a local speciality in Stoke-On-Trent and something I have eaten since childhood until I was diagnosed with coeliac decease and had to stop eating them, so finding a gluten free traditional oatcake is special to me as I can now have this childhood treat again.  Even if it means a 13mile round trip and double the cost of the the traditional oatcakes that I used to get from just around the corner !!

They are a really nice savoury treat and if you are ever in Stoke on Trent I can recommend you visit High Lane Oatcakes and try a traditional one for your self.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.