About time too!

I've really neglected my car since getting the bike, which can be seen hiding in the garage to the left! Apart from washing it now and again during the past year I've not done the usual clean that it needs.
Today I found that there was damp in the footwell of the drivers side and this is usually caused by blocked tubes which allow the water to run off the convertible roof. Luckily I have my trombone cleaner, yes I did say that, really. It's a long thin springy thing like those stretchy curtain wires that people hang net curtains with. At each end there is a little round brush and it's the ideal tool, the only tool that I know of, for poking down the drainage holes. With the silver birch tree at the front of our house there is millions of little seeds falling every year and they get everywhere.

It's these seeds that also get into the cavity behind the seats where the roof folds away. In this space there are also drainage tubes that you have to check are in place or the water goes onto the fabric covering and goes mouldy. Happy to say they were ok but I had to get the vacuum in to suck all of the seeds and leaves out.

Mustn't leave it so long next time, I used to do it every spring and autumn so must get back into that habit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.