Prince Henry Walk

After yesterday, I needed a generous dose of good, old fashioned, medicinal colour. Sure enough, today was blue and jolly from one end to the other. Beauty!! By late afternoon light, I took a stroll along a section of the Prince Henry walk between Katoomba Falls and Echo Point. This curious little lookout  features a wonderful view of Mt Solitary. The air was fresh and clean and beautiful ... albeit a little chilly. All round, it did me very nicely.

I really think this'll look better in LARGE.

Interestingly, Legodude asked me who "Prince Henry" was. I had to confess I didn't know. There is a certain charming "Captain Wales" who has just spent a month over here doing a PR exercise with the army but this walk certainly wasn't named after him. I quote from the official NSW government website:

".... The walk was named in honour of a son of King George V, Prince Henry, Duke of Gloucester, who had spent 20 minutes at Katoomba railway station earlier in 1934 .... " 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.