In The Occupied Territory

By FinHall

Where I used to live

This house, this block of flats, were new when I moved in there as an 18 month old child. The modern buildings which were filled  with young, post war couples, were the epitome of new housing schemes built by local councils.
Our side of the block was full of children around the ages of my brothers and I, about 19 in all, although not all of them played as one, but most did. I lived there until I was 18.
Although I wasn't born there, I was born in Torry, up until where I live now, this was the place I stayed the longest.

I have memories as a wee, blonde, haired, toddler, peddling round the block of flats opposite ours on a little metal horse and cart. See the extra picture.
This is the back door of the building, but because the front door was on the main road, we all used this one all the time, unless we were coming off a bus.
There were very few cars about then, our parents always had one .
At night, as well as listening to Radio Luxembourg on a blue transistor radio, I would lie and watch the shadows created by the occasional passing car's lights travelling across the walls of the bedroom my brothers and I shared, never stopping at the Man from Uncle bubblegum cards, drawing pinned on the pastel patterned wallpaper on the wall behind my bed. Hesitating only for a moment on the pale blue bedspread with tennis racket design, that covered my bed which was situated against the outer wall.
A bedroom, which, in the cold, north east winters, was only occasionally heated by a 10", single bar, electric heater.

We lived in the middle left looking at the picture.
Above us was the Smiths, a family of 4. The son was slightly older than me. Only the daughter still lives.
Top right was the Browns; a family of 6. Three boys and a girl. Only the girl is still alive.
Next door to us was the Stewart's, a family of three girls. I can't ever recall a Mr Stewart, but I do Kathleen, the eldest, at one point going to see The Rolling Stones (Brian Jones era) at The Capitol. The moved out when I was a teenager.
Below them was the Davies family. Mums, Dad, 3 girls and 2 boys. Apart from their dad, they are all still alive and well. If I am correct, Mrs Davies still stays there.
Below us resided Mrs Third who was, I believe, a single parent of two young kids. They never mixed with any of the rest of us. She remarried later on and moved out too.
My parents continued living there with my youngest brother until 36 years ago.







So, here is the start of your latin education. the A-Z shall be a mixture of song titles and artists.
Starting with A, a wonderful Mexican lady

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.