The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Goldfinch Eating Dandelion Seeds - Slimbridge

It's my birthday again ... forty four years on planet earth completed!

It's becoming a semi tradition to go to Slimbridge on my birthday now. Last year we were there on the way back from Leamington Spa, and we were lucky enough to see the Crane chick. This year there were plenty of Cranes about, but as far as I know none had nested.

There was plenty to see around the Rushy and the walk to the Holden Tower. There were plenty from the photos I took that could have been used for this blip, but every so often you nail one of the photos you always dream of taking.

I have seen the Goldfinches taking dandelion seeds in our garden, but trying to get a photo is almost impossible. This photo had a window of chance of about five seconds. I could see one of the WWT warders coming towards the hide door at the same time the Goldfinch landed on the dandelions. I knew the warder would unwittingly scare off the Goldfinch. Luckily I got this one to share with you!

After a lovely lunch the sun came out and we had a pleasant afternoon walking around the other half of the reserve, and taking photos of the cute goslings on the South Lake.

We headed back to the Barn for tea, and a cracking steak and chips birthday meal, and watched the second half of the home petanque match (we lost 3-1).

Absolutely fantastic birthday weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.