Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Face in the long grass

Walking with Pippa on a small nature reserve not far from home, I came face to face with this fox cub. Pippa's attention was diverted elsewhere, so I had just enough time to catch its curious gaze. This place is seldom visited, so I could well have been the first person it had seen. I found the den among some nettles.

I've been trying to learn various warbler songs since it's difficult to see them here, but you can hear them. I'm still struggling to tell them apart but I'm determined to learn after reading Bird Watching With Your Eyes Closed, by Simon Barnes. It's the perfect read for anyone trying to build their knowledge of birds.

The Great Tits that had taken over our nesting box appear to have fledged. Sadly they haven't all survived. I found the feathers of one bird on the lawn. The magpies are on the prowl.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.