Visiting the Queen

Sue: Hello, who are you?
She: I'm the Queen.
Sue: The Queen of England? Wow! We're Americans, and we wondered if we would ever see the Queen.
She: Well it's me. (Brief pause, look of great worry.) Well it's not really true, I'm sorry. We're just playing.

This was really the highlight of the day. Trouble hiring a car, papers not quite right, numbers missing, but we did get one, only instead of an economy car we ended up with a Mercedes, which is wider than any car I've ever driven, absolutely terrifying. Sweet man, gave us this one for the price we had paid for the little one, but it's a holiday weekend and the narrow streets are packed with cars and people, bicycles and buses. I was shaking so badly when I finally got the car back to our place, I had to have a lie-down. Nearly fainted. Later on we burned out a hair-dryer, got into some stinging nettles, laughed till we both wept, and finally took a walk up through perfect English meadows (there was even a cuckoo calling) to Old Sarum, where we met the Queen.

Did not get to Stonehenge, Devizes, or Avebury. Did not connect with Sarum Stroller.

But we did have a lovely audience with the Queen.

Tomorrow we are scheduled to enter Stonehenge at 5:30 a.m., if I can get this blasted Mercedes there without having a wreck or killing a pedestrian.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.