ncpinkerton

By ncpinkerton

Transport day 7- Falkirk Wheel

My husband and I took a day trip out to the Falkirk Wheel today.  It was the first time we have been as until recently we had no real interest in going.  The wheel is the world's first and only rotating boat lift.  It is designed to transfer barges from one canal to another.  Due to the 35 m decent in between the canals there used to be a series of locks.  The wheel has two cradles filled with water that balance as the wheel rotates to lift boats up to the union canal at the same time as it lowers boats to the Forth and Clyde canals.  It is quite a feet of engineering, I am sure that my dad would have appreciated it if he had been able to visit.  I have added some extra photos today as one photo wasn't enough to show what the wheel can do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.