madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Incey Wincey Spiders!

Apart from taking Portly Lucy round the block, potting on some Zinnia seedlings and giving Daisy eye drops, I have done nothing! Well, apart from rotating Daisy and my little Milly and Tilly on outside play! Tilly is still posturing aggressively, Milly is just trying to pinch her food!
 I fell asleep on the sofa last night and woke at 6 in a little curled up ball! I did too much yesterday and I'm suffering today! Damn and blast it! It certainly is a pernicious and persistent virus!
On my way out to get Lucy I spotted this little ball of spiders - well it was a neat little ball till I inadvertently pinged their web, at which point they scattered outward rather like one of those childrens  kaleidoscopes that change pattern as you twist the end! I guess they are making themselves look bigger to scare the potential predator, or maybe they have a fight / flight instinct and just scatter! I also wonder if the mum spins their web and lays them on it, or they make their own when hatched - it does seem a strange place to choose, not hidden but out in plain sight. One year I had a spider ball in my conservatory, I left it  and one day it split - they divided and went in all directions to form smaller balls! They were like an invading army setting up outposts! The next morning they had all gone! 
I plan another lazy day tomorrow so that I can go out and enjoy my birthday monday! Even passed up on a BBQ at Vegan Jo's this evening! But I got to watch the evening antics of Mouse 1  and 3 - Mouse 2 who is usually on the ceramic bird feeder was a no show - or maybe it was Mouse 1 and Mouse 2 decided the tea cup was easier and more plentiful feeding so joined Mouse 3!  If only I could put little coloured tags on one of their paws to tell them apart - bought some for the chickens just because I thought they were pretty and a bit of bling for them!! 
If you have time take a look at this - Magna Carta embroidery. It is the most interesting and beautiful  7 minute film about how Cornelia Parker created a 13-metre-long embroidery depicting the Magna Carta Wikipedia page, helped by over 200 individuals including Jarvis Cocker, Edward Snowden,Baroness Doreen Lawrence and many prisoners.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.