MyLifeMirror

By MyLifeMirror

Desert Willow

"Satisfaction of one's curiosity is one of the greatest sources of happiness in life." -Linus Pauling

Chilopsis is a shrub or tree native to the southwestern United States and Mexico. The common name is desert willow because of its willow-like leaves, but it is a member of the bignonia family. The darker the color of the flowers, the more water the tree is receiving. This is the darkest purple desert willow I've ever seen.

I still recall my elementary school assignment that focused on collecting leaves for a list of trees. I had to press the leaves and glue them into a homemade book. I loved that project - I drove my patents crazy trying to find that elusive chestnut tree leaf. :)

As I've traveled to new areas and then moved to AZ, my fascination with all the new plants and trees was ignited again. Local culture and history are always intertwined with the native plants. There is so much to learn - so much to discover.

One of my retirement goals (someday...) is to spend more time studying all those things I have not had time to explore. Maybe in a class room but definitely under the sky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.