NormPietila

By NormPietila

They're at the starting gate !!

Tonight was Saturday night horsing around with my camera and flash.  I've always been curious about 2nd curtain sync and how it affects an image so a late night visit to the track was in order.  I kind of messed up by taking my telephoto as maybe a wider angle lens might have given better results.  That's for next time.  As the subject moves into the frame the ambient light exposes the 1/2 second timed exposure and only when the 2nd curtain closes, does the flash fire and freezes the subject.   The fun part was watching the drivers.  One was even texting (see extra).  "Why do I need to watch the track, the horse knows where he is going!! ...  Oh-oh, where did that tractor come from??? ... All bets are off this pony."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.