Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

Construction Zone

I was in my shop a few days ago, and happened to glance through the window as a bird flew up underneath the deck outside the living room above. I went out to investigate and found that a robin was building her nest on one of the diagonal braces, right underneath the mat outside the door leading onto the deck.

We've enjoyed watching Ms Robin carrying large bundles of bark, grass, twigs, and even a piece of plastic sheet, to add to the straggly structure. Her timing is rather unfortunate. Workmen are coming next week to excavate a trench along the side of the house to install a new drain -- we've had water seeping through the concrete wall below grade.

I hope Ms R. is able to tolerate the noise and commotion. If she'd started work earlier, I would have tried postponing the construction/destruction. She didn't seem to be bothered by our gardener moving plants out of the target zone.

I hope we see/hear the flutter of tiny wings before long!

   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.