Beneath Biscay

By Douglian

La génoise

This style if finishing off these eves of buildings using layers of roof tiles is quite common here in Spain, both on old buildings, such as the Casa Natal de Jovellanos museum on the left,  which dates as far back as far as the 15th century, and the building on the right which has been completely re-built, apart from the façade, within the last few years.

I only learnt of the name for this style, 'La génoise', recently thanks to Veronica's blip here, until which time I didn't even realise that the style existed outside of Spain. I still don't know what the style is called in Spanish. As  the name suggests the style may have originated in Genoa.

There's a French wikipedia page about the style here, but no translation to English or Spanish unfortunately. I'll must my niece, a building surveyor, what they are called in Spanish.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.