Simply Me

By Suze981

Scaredy cat

We can all be a bit of a scaredy cat at times.

I worry about Wes, his cat flap goes directly out on to the street and even though he loves going out, I can't help but think he'd feel better with a garden of his own.

We've recently been experimenting with the communal garden at the back of our flats. There's no route for him to come back in so we both go out - he also seems more comfortable exploring if he knows I'm there. I'm like his safety net. Yes I have turned into that crazy lady taking her cat for trips.

He's still a bit jumpy, but little and often is the key. It's the same with me. I've been a scaredy cat since my running pain on Wednesday. I've been coming up with reasons not to go running, because I desperately don't want there to be pain, I want to be fixed.

But I finally went out today. I limited myself to 1.5 miles. There was no rubbing, but there was some pain in my right ankle (interestingly the opposite to the one that started all my woes) - but I only had pain in the last few minutes so that's not as bad as expected.

Like Wesley, I think little and often will be the key. I know orthotics take time and by now, I'm used to starting again. Hopefully though, this will be the last time I'll have to do it for a while...

And as for Wes, we're hoping to move at some point in the next year or so - hopefully he'll have that patch of garden to call his own soon.

Running mileage (15 March - 15 March)
Today's run: 1.5 miles
Total mileage: 73 miles

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.