... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

CCC: Fledgling!

Much much larger than lifesize in large.

Eeee, this was too exciting a find! The robins were being more frantic than usual: they were whizzing around and hovering (!) over the flowerbeds. They kept zooming back to their nest and I could hear the scratchy cheeping, but louder, and they weren't going in but hovering in front of it. 
I could also hear a very pure-tone cheeping (sounding like a cricket) so tried to find whatever it was, only to find this. They've emerged and are super-tiny.  Turns out that one or several had not left the nest, but at least two had. There was this one (above) about 5m from the nest, and another one about 20m further away in another flowerbed. That explained the parents hovering over there.
I didn't see the fledglings fly, but the blip one flutter-hopped away when I approached it after taking my first couple of shots, so they certainly are trying. The blip photo was it hiding in the flowerbed after flutter-hopping away.

I struggled to choose: this'd probably be my alternative (that was the other fledgling that had got miles). I also quite liked this shot of one of the parents bringing a ladybird to tempt out the other fledglings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.