hello : )

By 1DayataTime

ducklings galore : )

This female Wood duck has her work cut out for her. I took this photo from quite a distance, but it looks like there are 9 or 10 ducklings! One week ago today I saw the first family of goslings and today the first sighting of these ducklings.

On the gosling front, I added a few extra photos showing the male Canada goose flipping out quite a bit! My guess is that there were some turtles in the water below that tried to nip at him or the goslings, but it's just a guess. Although at the time of taking these photos, I thought I saw something stringlike that he was caught in, so it also could have been an eel or a snake. It is so interesting to see how calm the female Canada goose appears to be. The goslings are rather upright so I think they were a bit frightened. Their mom carries on as if nothing happened or maybe she is supposed to do so in order to keep the calm.

I checked out the other Canada goose family as well and my time taking their photos just may be coming to an end, as one of the adults scared the hell out of me today! I think it was the male, but I really cannot remember, as I was simply trying to slowing back away from him/her while the hissing was going on. I really hate that hissing sound they make!

I am happy to share that I had a wonderful time with my family yesterday : ) And tomorrow I will meet a good friend for coffee. In the US we are celebrating Memorial Day tomorrow, which is also the unofficial start to summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.