Captain's Logbook

By CaptainSensible

British

I was going to make some comment about British Summer time. For our overseas friends let me explain. There is something uniquely odd about British picnics, BBQ's, street parties and general al fresco dining. The fact that we consider doing it at all baffles many. It baffles us!

We know, when we are looking for the matches to light the BBQ, when we are laying out the first napkin, that it is going to chuck it down with rain. We also know that we are going to carry on regardless.

A normal sane person from another nation may say - "why not eat indoors and come out with drinks afterwards if the sun is shining?"
No no no no no. That won't do at all.

Sometimes I wonder whether the allusion to British Bulldogs is some reference to barking.

Anyway, our street had a party to celebrate the Jubilee. I enjoyed it, yes it rained, yes the crisps and cakes got a bit soggy. But that didn't matter at all. My skin kept me dry and I stopped shivering later in the evening in front of the fire and the TV.

And I wouldn't have missed it for anything.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.