Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Store

This is one of those ghost signs that's been bugging me for ages, mainly because when I see it usually just a fleeting glimpse as I  travel past by rail or road. Today I was on foot as 10yo and I walked the Leeds-Liverpool Canal between East Riddlesden and Dowley Gap, and I found myself with the perfect vantage point, underneath the Damart Mill, to explore it at my leisure.

Even with a good view and favourable lighting, it is still an obscure sign and difficult to decode. After some playing around with contrast, brightness and grey scale I think I've made out most of it: MIDLAND RAILWAYS ... DRY GOODS & GRAIN STORE.  The missing word(s) in the middle might be SUGAR.

A little further down the canal, we spotted another ghost sign but this one is even more obscure, with only the word WELDING surviving (see extra photo).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.