Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Goldfinch

My favourite read last year was Donna Tartt's The Goldfinch . I love too the painting of the same name by Carel Fabritius. A goldfinch in the garden, therefore, is always cause for excitement. I recently brought some teasels (popular with goldfinches) in to the garden to signal to any passing goldfinch that a visit to our feeder might just be worthwhile since I'd topped it up with niger seeds. Today I noticed a pair of goldfinches and I'm pretty sure they're nesting in the yew tree in our back garden. I saw the pair at the top of one of our conifers so trained the camera on the spot - pleased to see that one of them obliged soon afterwards. I'm learning their song too. There're also some chicks in a wren box I put on the wall behind the yew but I haven't seen any wrens. I wouldn't expect it to be the goldfinches since they make small cup-like nests in dense shrubbery. More observation needed. I could do with a hide.

Update: I see the goldfinches are taking nesting materials in to the yew tree so I'd better leave them to get on with it.

Next day update: No sign of goldfinches yet today, hope I haven't scared them off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.