Put out to Pasture

I've had to work today, with everybody else in the team away, but I did manage to squeeze a short bike ride in and only caught a little bit of light rain in the process. The meadows are incredibly beautiful right now and I thought I already had my blip for the day when I spotted this wonderful old horse.

I almost didn't bother to stop because this field was pretty much hidden behind a high limestone wall atop a bank covered in wild flowers. I had to hold the camera above my head and trust to luck. Indeed, I had to take quite a few frames to get the composition I wanted and all the while she just stood stock still for me in this perfect pose. It remained something of a throwaway shot for me at the time, but I've ended up really liking it. There is something about the demeanour of the horse, a certain sagacity perhaps, that is really appealing. The meadow was really colourful, but somehow I preferred this black and white version.

I don't think there is anything to be read into this. It's simply my favourite shot of the day. And I'm keeping the journal short because I'm behind with a few important jobs. I've got to crack on with things this evening. Don't feel too sorry for me though. I've got some free time coming soon!

Thanks for the interest in the new project. It's good to be working on something where it may well be possible to make a significant difference to patient safety. It also seems like quite a few of you preferred the almost blip to the actual blip. I guess the one I chose was a more personal photograph. I was tempted to make a swap but in the end I decided to keep things as they were in respect to the journal. Appreciate the feedback though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.