Shark!

Well, a sleepy, pregnant white tipped reef shark but a shark nonetheless (you can just see her rounded belly in the Extras photo.)

I was going to choose a zebra moray as it's new to us but with the benefit of hindsight, I have another zebra moray I prefer for another day. We watched it tucking into a sea urchin and it was lovely to see its stripes (of which there are over 100) as it came out of its hidey hole.  We also saw a male Whiteley's box fish which is quite rare, endemic to Hawaii and really rather sweet.

We've had two more lovely dives, marred only a little by a headache on the second dive. It's cold and causing tension in my already problematic shoulders.  Rich has since jabbed knuckles into the knots and they're feeling significantly better as is my head. Tomorrow I'm going to try tucking my hood into my wetsuit to stop the cold water flow down my back.

The second dive was particularly beautiful with a lava tube that we swam through which is where the dive site gets its name, 'Suck 'em Up.'  If you don't time it right, the tube literally sucks you up a hole and spits you out on the rocks at the top.  Not the best way to exit a dive. 

Luckily, our dive guides are wise, experienced and sensible!  The second lava tube was called something like Skeleton Skull and we didn't quite complete that one as the surge was getting pretty heavy.  This is Rich heading though a tube ahead of me.

The rest of the day we've spent by the pool, grabbing a coffee, watching the sunset and simply chilling out.

For my dive log: 

Dive 1: Suck 'em Up
21m 
76 minutes (too long... Cold!)

Dive 2: Kaloka
25.3m
60 minutes... Headache!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.